Home | School Management | Meet Australia’s educator changemakers
2018 Commonwealth Bank Teaching Award recipients: (l-r) Paul Kenna, Steve Harrison, Stacey Quince, Peter Gurrier-Jones, Ann Caro, John Goh, Janeen Silcock, Matthew Eyles, Yasodai Selvakumaran, Kerry White, Greg McMahon, John Cleary. Photo: Commonwealth Bank

Meet Australia’s educator changemakers

When Greg McMahon became principal of Doveton College in 2015, things were tough. The school, situated in Melbourne's southeast – one of Victoria's poorest areas – had poor attendance rates and its students scored low grades. Once buoyed by manufacturing, its community had since experienced generational unemployment.

Please login below to view content or register for a 4 week FREE Trial.

Membership Login

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the top stories in our weekly newsletter Sign up now